3rd February, 2016 – A miser? Me?

We have customer who has farm lands and he visits once in two or three days. He drinks some here and takes away some for himself and laborers who work for him. Few months ago, his health had completely deteriorated and was close to his last breath. But by some miracle he gained vigor and is doing well now. He had quit drinking but he could not stay from it for very long. His name is SVN.

So, SVN was taking his parcel as usual today and he asked a discount of Rs. 20. I said I cannot give him. He told me, ‘What a miser you are?’ I just smiled at him and gave the exact change.

It does not bother me. This is not the first time I am called a miser at my store. I work on a policy that business transactions should be made at the price which both the parties agree, immaterial of how small or big the value is.

Definitely, we can be friends and I can buy you anything you want. But, if you are at my store buying drinks, it’s only fair I expect you to pay the amount you owe me.

So, I went to the Hotel for breakfast beside our bar. I was finishing my Milk when I saw SVN having breakfast on another table. I joined him and spoke to him friendly. While I had gone to pay the bill, I told the waiter to add up his bill to mine and I paid it. I departed from the hotel before he was finished.

He came back to our bar and asked, ‘What did you do back there?’

I smiled and said, ‘What did I do?’

He said, ‘You shouldn’t have done that. Here take this money.’ And he took some cash out of his pocket and tried to give me which I declined.

I said, ‘You come here everyday when will I ever get another chance to buy you anything. It’s alright.’

He gave me a long look and while he was leaving, he said, ‘If you ever come to my village, call me.’

Note : Sorry I could not update yesterday. I was resting during the time I schedule to write. Fever and cold are really boring.

Leave a comment